From 'Best Film' to 'Best Actor' - here is everyone who deserves a nomination and a win this year

Let us imagine for a while that Indian movie awards indeed awarded the very best of cinema every year. That it wasn't just about the glamorous gowns, pre-recorded and awfully edited performances, and raking-in the moolah with tonnes of sponsors and advertisements in-between. That the award shows in India, indeed patted the backs of the ones who achieved something extraordinary in the field of cinema and not the ones who made the biggest bucks or set the box office on fire.

Too hard to imagine, is it?

We'll help you with it.

So we have decided to create our own list of 2017's greatest achievements in Bollywood, putting together 'the nominees' and also 'the winners.'

The criteria was simply to put aside the popular choices - and concentrate on the content. We put together the efforts of some of the biggest 'movie lovers' in our team and came up with some of the most under-rated and over-looked - but breathtaking work released in the year 2017.

Here are the nominees and the winners in all major categories:

Best Film

Toilet: Ek Prem Katha
Mukti Bhawan (WINNER)
Kadvi Hawa
Anaarkali of Aaraa

A post shared by Анна (@hindi.urdu) on

Best Actor

Rajkumar Rao - Trapped (WINNER)
Akshay Kumar - Toilet: Ek Prem Katha
Lalit Behl - Mukti Bhawan
Sanjay Mishra - Kadvi Hawa
Nawazuddin Siddiqui - Haraamkhor

Best Actress

Kangana Ranaut - Simran
Vidya Balan - Tumhari Sulu
Bhumi Pednekar - Toilet: Ek Prem Katha
Zaira Wassim - Secret Superstar 
Swara Bhaskara - Anaarkali of Aaraa (WINNER)

A post shared by Pocket Diary (@mypocketdiary) on

Best Actor In A Supporting Role

Nawazuddin Sidiqui - Mom
Rajkumar Rao - Bareily Ki Barfi
Pankaj Tripathi - Newton
Adil Hussain - Mukti Bhawan (WINNER)
Ranvir Shorey - Kadvi Hawa
Sanjay Mishra - Anaarkali of Aaraa

A post shared by MISAFF (@mosaic_misaff) on

Best Actress In A Supporting Role

Ratna Pathak Shah - Lipstick Under My Burkha (WINNER)
Konkona Sen Sharma - Lipstick Under My Burkha
Anjali Patil - Newton
Shweta Tripathi - Haraamkhor
Aahana Kumra - Lipstick Under My Burkha

A post shared by Film Companion (@filmcompanion) on

Best Song written and composed for a movie

Zaalima - Raees 
Humsafar - Badrinath Ki Dulhaniya
Sahiba - Phillauri
Yeh Ishq Hai - Rangoon
Nachdi Phira - Secret Superstar (WINNER)

Best Director

Amit V Masurkar - Newton
Vikramaditya Motwane - Trapped (WINNER)
Shlok Sharma - Haraamkhor
Konkona Sen Sharma - A Death In the Gunj
Shubhashish Bhutiani - Mukti Bhawan

What do you think of our picks?

Share your thoughts...

No comments